There hasn’t been a connection between social media and real-life until now. The Connect app establishes this missing connection by replicating the characteristics of how we share in real-life. This is the new way of sharing that reconnects us to the ways of sharing we know.
• We don’t have to decide how everything combined should be shared, so each post, comment and reply on Connect has options. These options include the ability to disallow quoting, commenting, and sharing or restrict who can view each post.
• There are not scores related to how much we've shared or lists of friends and likes on display. To replicate this quality, there are no scores or lists that can be viewed by others.
• We like, share and comment. We do not count and display amounts of views, friends, likes, shares and comments, so Connect allows users to know which of their own posts are more liked or shared without displaying amounts. Users can share this information by using the Likes and Shares switches.
• An on display record of almost everything we’ve ever shared is not expected, or all the things we share do not disappear after a short time. To reproduce this aspect, all Connect users can display a limited number of posts or comments indefinitely. Other posts and comments are displayed temporarily before being moved to the archive.
• We can usually control how much of what we've shared is retained or archived by others, so the Archiving switch controls what appears in other users private archives. All posts in the archive can be shared again anytime.
• There is a basic knowledge of when things were shared even though an exact time is not always recorded. This is replicated by all posts being generally dated, comments and replies displaying a date temporarily, and the Time switch preventing display of the specific post time.
• We are not commonly notified whenever friends like, share or comment, so all notifications are only regarding your posts, your followers or when someone mentions you.